New Beginnings

The past year has been filled with change for me. At some points, I went somewhat willingly. At other times, I was dragged along by life, metaphorically kicking and screaming. I am much too proper and quiet to do any actual kicking and screaming.

Think about the things that make you comfortable right now, the things that you’re “used to.” A few of those things might be:

  • A spouse or partner
  • A house / living location
  • Your long term plans
  • Your expectations for your current life
  • Your expectations for your future life

 

For me, all of those things have changed within the last 12 months. And I’m excited to announce three MORE things:

  1. I successfully survived and thrived through all that change.
  2. I am better for having lived through all those changes.
  3. AND ANOTHER THING IS ABOUT TO CHANGE!

As of Monday, September 15, I am changing jobs. My new job is a promotion which I have worked hard for. No, I’m still not rich, so you can’t borrow $5 or $500, so don’t ask.

Approximately a month from now, my living location will also change, to shorten my commute to my new office and provide me with a marginally necessary fireplace. Oh, how I love a fireplace, even though I basically live in Hades also known as southeast Texas.

I am not happy about all of this change. I am joyous. I haven’t always felt how I currently feel. It has taken a very long time for me to get to the joyous and excited stage. Recently, I was stuck in the “fearful” stage. I cried. I thought about changing my mind. I thought about how I was simply sick of change and I “needed” something, anything, to remain the same.

But after prayer, thinking time, and just plain ole time passing (which is the best emotional healer of all), I came to an obvious and joyous conclusion: Change is good.

Somewhere along the way, I forgot that change can be not only good, but great. Exhilarating! Exciting! As time, life, and disappointment has aged my once young and easily excited psyche, I have become grouchier, quicker to think negatively, hungrier for sameness and comfort. But luckily, I have not grown more complacent. And the little remaining shreds of fiery desire to be something, do something, live something, and see something, lots of some things…those little shreds are still enough to keep the flames of courage going.

I won’t say that I am fearless. I will say that I am trying anyway.

I won’t say that I am perfect. I will say that I always give my best.

I won’t say that I will be safe. I will one day say that I have lived.

And with those words of inspiration, which I wrote for myself, I am preparing to leave this part of my life behind and embark on a new journey.

I am all packed and…

ret ta go 

Leave a comment